2016-17 Board Certification Program
Location: BioSpine Institute
4211 W. Boy Scout Blvd., #400
Tampa, FL 33607
Schedule (subject to change)
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Tuesday, November 1, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
The Board Certification Program is specifically designed to offer an advanced level of professional education and certification in the management of one of America's most complex social compensation systems. The program is comprised of ten (10) live presentations over a five (5) day period which delves into advanced concepts of insurance, law and the anatomy of occupational injury.
This certification program requires an advanced level of qualification for eligibility and provides the opportunity for students to earn the "CWC” professional designation (Certified in Workers’ Compensation). Eligible participants include licensed claims adjusters, medical case managers, insurance, risk management, human resource, safety and vocational professionals.
Credits are automatically filed with the Florida DFS upon completion of each course segment. Total cost of this certification program is only $550.00. This includes an application fee of $100.00 and $45.00 for each of the 10 courses. You may choose to pay for the full course upfront, or pay for the courses as you attend.
Board Certification Program Application
Calendar Events Page
Third District Court of Appeal Decision Preserves Exclusive Remedy
On June 24, 2015, the State of Florida appeals a final summary judgement determining that section 440.11, Florida Statutes (2014), the “exclusiveness of liability” provision of the Florida Workers’ Compensation Law that immunizes from suit an employer and its employees for covered, work-related injuries, is facially unconstitutional under the United States and Florida Constitutions. Concluding that the threshold requirements for the prosecution of such claims were not met, we reverse.
See full Appellate Decision
Florida Workers’ Compensation Insurance Rates Decrease By 5.2% in 2015, Down by More than 57% Since the 2003 Reforms
Article by, Rafael Gonzalez,Vice President, Strategic Solutions Settlement Solutions
5-Hour Law and Ethics Update
As part of the passing of HB 725 on October 1, 2012, adjusters are now required to complete a mandatory 5-Hour Law and Ethics Update CE Course every 2 years specific to the license held by the licensee. The new law will affect those licensees who began their continuing education cycle on November 1, 2012 and will complete the compliance cycle in October, 2014.
This requirement is directly tied to CE compliance cycles ending 9/30/14 or earlier, and CE compliance cycles ending 10/31/14 or later. The licensees compliance period begins with the end of your birth month following the second anniversary of the first license issuance date, and then biennially thereafter. In addition to the five-hour course, adjusters will be required to participate in 19- hours of elective credits, approved by the department and focusing on their specific line of insurance.
HB 725: Understanding the Upcoming CE Changes